Sustainable Agriculture

FarmInsect

Automated solution for regional insect breeding for the farmer as animal feed for chickens, pigs and fish.

“The circular economy of agricultural biomass is the key to environmentally friendly and resource-efficient agriculture. Insects in particular help us to close regional cycles that would be difficult to reach with conventional farm animals. Insects produce high-quality protein for use as animal feed and food. "

- Professor Wilhelm Windisch
Technical University of Munich (TUM)

Advantages of regional insect breeding

Regional cycles can make more efficient use of resources:
Feeding insects improves animal health:

Insects enable sustainable and sustainable agriculture:

With FarmInsect we want to make animal husbandry more sustainable and efficient. For this we use insects and the concepts of the circular economy. The challenges and needs of farmers are the focus of our efforts. With our innovative approach for regional insect breeding, we want to give farmers the prospect of producing their protein feed themselves. Insects have been approved as feed for farm animals in the EU since 2017 and offer the potential to replace the import of soy or fish meal with a regional and sustainable solution. With FarmInsect we make this potential available to the farmer.

With our solution, farmers can save up to 20 % of their feed costs. At the same time, the company benefits from a better nutrient balance and higher animal welfare. We support the farmer from start to finish. The machine concept is designed in such a way that it can be integrated into any operational infrastructure. An intuitive IT platform monitors all important process steps and guides the farmer through the production process step by step. So everyone, even without previous knowledge, can successfully start with insect production.

The circular economy is brought back to the farm through the regional production of useful insects as animal feed. In addition, due to the regional production, supply chains are completely redefined. Resilient, regional clusters are replacing the supply chains of the 20th century that are dependent on the world market. At FarmInsect we help you to unlock the potential of modern agriculture with regionally integrated material cycles for your company.

PARTNER NETWORK

FarmInsect is part of a strong partner network that is a leader in the development of alternative protein sources. FarmInsect has been supported by the Technical University of Munich since the development phase and operates the first pilot plant there. In 2019 FarmInsect won first place in the TUM Startup Booster Grant. FarmInsect has been part of the LMU EC Accelerator program since early 2020. FarmInsect works in the field of machine development with the Munich University of Applied Sciences. 

In summer 2020, FarmInsect was included in the EU's EIT Food Accelerator Network as one of the most promising food and agritech startups in Europe.

FarmInsect has been supported by the Bavarian Ministry of Agriculture and the EU since April 2020 as part of the "European Innovation Partnerships" funding program. 

European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development: Here Europe invests in the rural areas.

Co-financed by the Free State of Bavaria as part of the development program for rural areas in Bavaria 2014-2020.

The project for sustainable insect production in Bavaria is funded by the Bavarian State Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Forests and the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD).

As part of the funded project, the economic viability and feasibility of decentralized production of black soldier fly larvae and processing into fish feed in agricultural holdings in Bavaria are to be examined.

We are an interdisciplinary and experienced founding team. With competencies from the fields of agricultural science, electrical engineering and business administration, we are perfectly positioned for development. The founders all have several years of experience in development as well as startup and start-up experience.

Managing directors

Wolfgang has already successfully founded several companies in the food sector. He has experience in development, production and quality. At FarmInsect, he is responsible for biological research, operations, finance and QM.

Managing directors

Thomas has successfully founded an IT company and put it on a growth path as CFO and sales manager. He has experience in HR, legal and sales. At FarmInsect he is responsible for sales, business development, HR and legal.

Head of Technology and Development

Andre has several years of professional experience in the development of decentralized systems in the energy industry. Especially in the agricultural sector. At FarmInsect, he is responsible for technical development, supplier management and programming.

Contact us

    en_USEN
    de_DEDE en_USEN

Nachhaltige Landwirtschaft

FarmInsect

Automatisierte Lösung für die regionale Insektenzucht beim Landwirt als Tierfutter für Hühner, Schweine und Fische.

„Die Kreislaufwirtschaft der landwirtschaftlichen Biomasse ist der Schlüssel zu einer umweltschonenden und ressourceneffizienten Landwirtschaft. Vor allem Insekten helfen uns beim Schließen von regionalen Kreisläufen, die mit herkömmlichen Nutztieren nur schwierig erreichbar wären. Insekten erzeugen dabei hochwertiges Eiweiß für die Verwendung als Futtermittel und Lebensmittel.“

– Professor Wilhelm Windisch
Technische Universität München (TUM)

Vorteile der regionalen Insektenzucht

Durch regionale Kreisläufe können Ressourcen effizienter genutzt werden:
Die Verfütterung von Insekten verbessert die Gesundheit der Tiere:​

Insekten ermöglichen eine nachhaltige und zukunftsfähige Landwirtschaft:

Mit FarmInsect wollen wir Tierhaltung nachhaltiger und effizienter gestalten. Dazu nutzen wir Insekten und die Konzepte der Kreislaufwirtschaft. Die Herausforderungen und Bedürfnisse der Landwirte stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt unserer Bestrebungen. Mit unserem innovativen Ansatz für die regionale Insektenzucht wollen wir Landwirten die Perspektive eröffnen ihre Proteinfuttermittel selbst herzustellen. Insekten sind seit 2017 in der EU als Futtermittel für Nutztiere zugelassen und bieten das Potenzial den Import von Soja oder Fischmehl durch eine regionale und nachhaltige Lösung zu ersetzen. Dieses Potenzial machen wir mit FarmInsect für den Landwirt nutzbar.

Durch unsere Lösung können Landwirte bis zu 20 % Ihrer Kosten für Futtermittel einsparen. Gleichzeitig profitiert der Betrieb durch eine bessere Nährstoffbilanz und einem höheren Tierwohl. Wir unterstützen dabei den Landwirt von Anfang bis Ende. Das Maschinenkonzept ist so gestaltet, dass es sich in jede Betriebsinfrastruktur einbinden lässt. Eine intuitive IT-Plattform überwacht alle wichtigen Prozessschritte und führt den Landwirt Schritt für Schritt durch den Produktionsprozess. So kann jeder, auch ohne Vorkenntnisse, erfolgreich mit der Insektenproduktion durchstarten.

Durch die regionale Produktion von Nutzinsekten als Tierfutter wird die Kreislaufwirtschaft wieder auf den Bauernhof zurückgebracht. Zusätzlich werden, durch die regionale Produktion, Lieferketten völlig neu definiert. Widerstandsfähige, regionale Cluster lösen die vom Weltmarkt abhängigen Lieferketten des 20ten Jahrhunderts ab. Wir bei FarmInsect helfen Ihnen dabei, das Potenzial einer modernen Landwirtschaft mit regional integrierten Stoffkreisläufen für Ihren Betrieb zu erschließen.

PARTNERNETZWERK

FarmInsect ist in ein starkes Partnernetzwerk eingebunden, dass im Bereich der Entwicklung alternativer Proteinquellen führend ist. FarmInsect wird seit der Entwicklungsphase von der Technischen Universität München unterstützt und betreibt dort die erste Pilotanlage. 2019 hat FarmInsect den ersten Platz des TUM Startup Booster Grants gewonnen. Seit Anfang 2020 ist FarmInsect Teil des LMU EC Accelerator Programms. FarmInsect arbeitet im Bereich der Maschinenentwicklung mit der Hochschule München zusammen. 

Im Sommer 2020 wurde FarmInsect als eines der vielversprechensten Food- und Agritech-Startups in Europa in das EIT Food Accelerator Network der EU aufgenommen.

FarmInsect wird seit April 2020 vom Bayerischen Landwirtschaftsministerium und der EU im Rahmen des Förderprogramms „Europäische Innovationspartnerschaften“ unterstützt. 

Europäischer Landwirtschaftsfonds für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums: Hier investiert Europa in die ländlichen Gebiete.

Mitfinanziert durch den Freistaat Bayern im Rahmen des Entwicklungsprogramms für den ländlichen Raum in Bayern 2014-2020.

Das Vorhaben Nachhaltige Insektenproduktion in Bayern wird gefördert durch das Bayerische Staatsministerium für Ernährung, Landwirtschaft und Forsten und den Europäischen Landwirtschaftsfonds für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums (ELER).

Im Rahmen des geförderten Projektes soll die Wirtschaftlichkeit und Durchführbarkeit der dezentralen Produktion von Larven der Schwarzen Soldatenfliege und Verarbeitung zu Fischfutter in landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben in Bayern überprüft werden.

Wir sind ein interdisziplinäres und erfahrenes Gründerteam. Mit Kompetenzen aus den Bereichen Agrarwissenschaft, Elektrotechnik und BWL sind wir für die Entwicklung perfekt aufgestellt. Die Gründer haben alle mehrjährige Erfahrung in der Entwicklung sowie Startup und Gründungserfahrung.

Geschäftsführung

Wolfgang hat bereits erfolgreich mehrere Unternehmen im Lebensmittelbereich gegründet. Er bringt Erfahrung im Bereich Entwicklung, Produktion und Qualität mit. Bei FarmInsect ist er für die biologische Forschung, Operations, Finanzen und QM zuständig.

Geschäftsführung

Thomas hat erfolgreich ein IT-Unternehmen gegründet und es als CFO und Vertriebsleiter auf Wachstumskurs gebracht. Er bringt Erfahrung im Bereich HR, Legal und Vertrieb mit. Bei FarmInsect ist er für den Vertrieb, Business Development, HR und Legal zuständig.

Leiter Technik und Entwicklung

Andre hat mehrere Jahre Berufserfahrung in der Entwicklung von dezentralen Anlagen der Energiewirtschaft. Insbesondere auch im landwirtschaftlichen Bereich. Bei FarmInsect ist er für die technische Entwicklung, Lieferantenmanagement und Programmierung zuständig.

Kontaktiere uns

    de_DEDE
    en_USEN de_DEDE